Facebook  |  Pinterest  |  Blog

The California Reading Association

     Dedicated to Literacy for Over Fifty Years

The California Reading Association

Dedicated to Literacy for Over Fifty Years

The California
Reading Association

Dedicated to Literacy for Over Fifty Years

CRA Honors the 2011 Awards Recipients

(Past Recipients)

California Reading Association Hall of Fame Award: Judy Lynch

Established in 1988 to honor distinguished Californians whose contributions through scholarship, research, authorship and/or leadership have had a significant and lasting impact on reading improvement.

Marcus Foster Memorial Reading Award: Dr. Donald Bear

Established in 1973 and named in honor of the late Superintendent of Oakland Public Schools, it is given to an individual who has made extraordinary contributions to reading-language arts in our state.

John Martin Distinguished Service Award: Loretta Cudney and Barbara Peterson

Presented to a member of the California Reading Association who merits recognition for outstanding service to the organization.

Policymaker of the Year Award: State Senator Joe Simitian

Recognizes positive influences to education in California by a policymaker who has made a significant contribution to literacy.

Statewide Celebrate Literacy Award: Lynne Sundstrom

Selected to represent all Celebrate Literacy Award winners at the annual conference.

Torchlighter Program Awards

Recognizes CRA Councils for council programming which is innovative or provides outstanding service to the local community.

Area 2—Placer Area Reading Council
Area 7—Greater San Diego Reading Council

Margaret Lynch Area Exemplary Service Awards

Established in 1981 to recognize CRA members who have made an outstanding contribution to literacy in their area.

Area 2—Rosemary Rankin
Area 3—Shira Lubliner
Area 4—Gayle Watkins
Area 5—Charlotte Lucero
Area 6—Susan Kawell
Area 7—Melanie Miller

Write On With Reading Award

Recognizes students for their love of reading and their commitment to reading books as expressed in an essay.

K-2 Winner—Ismael Torres, Modesto City Schools, Modesto
3-5 Winner—Angelina Lira, Barstow Unified School District, Barstow
9-12 Winner—Kayla Renee Medley, Kelseyville Unified School District, Kelseyville

Celebrate Literacy Awards

Recognizes the literacy efforts and contributions made by individuals, clubs, organizations and businesses in a local reading council’s immediate community.

Area 2

Placer Area Reading Council
Girl Ambassador Troop #2155
Roseville Public Library
Bev Ruby
Linda Ashcraft
Kathy Goodwin
Betsy Stenklyft

Sacramento Area Reading Association
Lynne Sundstrom

Area 3

Santa Clara County Reading Council
Dr. Mary Warner

Area 4

Stanislaus Reading Council
Victoria Briscoe
Jim Sterling

Area 5

Kern Reading Association
Diane Duquette
Dee Slade
Bernard Herman

Area 6

Inland Empire Reading Council
Jane Moore

Area 7

Greater San Diego Reading Association
Kelly Johnson