Facebook  |  Pinterest  |  Blog

The California Reading Association

     Dedicated to Literacy for Over Fifty Years

The California Reading Association

Dedicated to Literacy for Over Fifty Years

The California
Reading Association

Dedicated to Literacy for Over Fifty Years

CRA Honors the 2012 Awards Recipients

(2011 Recipients)

California Reading Association Hall of Fame Award: Debi Pitta

Established in 1988 to honor distinguished Californians whose contributions through scholarship, research, authorship and/or leadership have had a significant and lasting impact on reading improvement.

Marcus Foster Memorial Reading Award: P. David Pearson

Established in 1973 and named in honor of the late Superintendent of Oakland Public Schools, it is given to an individual who has made extraordinary contributions to reading-language arts in our state.

Armin R. Schulz Award: Milly Lee

Established in 2012 in honor of Dr. Schulz to recognize a teacher who uses literature to teach or an author who writes books that promote social justice.

John Martin Distinguished Service Award: Armin Schulz

Presented to a member of the California Reading Association who merits recognition for outstanding service to the organization.

Policymaker of the Year Award: Joan Buchanan, Chair of Assembly Committee on Education

Recognizes positive influences to education in California by a policymaker who has made a significant contribution to literacy.

Statewide Celebrate Literacy Award: Oceanhouse Media- Michel Kripalani

Selected to represent all Celebrate Literacy Award winners at the annual conference.

Torchlighter Program Awards

Recognizes CRA Councils for council programming which is innovative or provides outstanding service to the local community.

Area 2 - Placer Area Reading CouncilCamp Read A Lot
Area 3 - Alameda County Reading Assn: Extreme Classroom Makeover: Practical Principles of Feng Shui
Area 4 - San Joaquin County Reading Association: Read Around the Library

Margaret Lynch Area Exemplary Service Awards

Established in 1981 to recognize CRA members who have made an outstanding contribution to literacy in their area.

Area 1 - Beverly Singer
Area 2 – Betsy Stenklyft
Area 3 – Cheri Benafield
Area 4 – Susan Neufeld
Area 5 – Randy de Jong
Area 6 – Jeanne Gahagan

Write On With Reading Award

Recognizes students for their love of reading and their commitment to reading books as expressed in an essay.

K - 2 Winner - Nakia Gooder, Bel Air Elementary
3 - 5 Winner - La Nyah'a Horton, Crestline Elementary
6 - 8 Winner - Trevor Mauk, Barstow Jr. High School

Celebrate Literacy Awards

Recognizes the literacy efforts and contributions made by individuals, clubs, organizations and businesses in a local reading council’s immediate community.

Area 1 
Lake Mendocino: 
Kellie Beverlin
Denise Crawford  
Tammy Prather
Tony Fuseli
Cindy Pilar 
Matt Barnett
Area 2
John Shefelbine 
Rosemary Rankin
Area 3 
Alameda County:
Jason Tarn and Maria Huffer
Contra Costa:
Judy Pam Bycel
Area 5 
Sage Publications- Martha Zeiher 
Santa Clara Elementary School
Area 6 
Orange County: 
Megan Mettler 
Julie Niles Peterson
Area 7 
Greater San Diego: 
Oceanhouse Media - Michel Kripalani
Friends of San Diego Library - Sherry Johnson
Shuarhands - Bette Wood Palovchik
Member Login

CRA is proud to support the quality

EUREKA! Nonfiction Children's Book Awards

The California Reading Association is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com.

American Literacy Corporation
$2000 "Outstanding Contributions to Literacy" award
$500 to CRA Council that nominates a winning K-8 educator